Just Get It Written

Dream, Create, and Make It Happen …

Don’t Get It Right, Get It Written

2 Comments

Don’t get it right, get it written. – James Thurber

I received that advice a few months ago from William Shawcross, author of Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother: The Official Biography, whom I was fortunate enough to meet during a book fair. I wish I could say that it was a life-changing advice and it did wonders to my writing and productivity. Unfortunately, half a year later, I’m still struggling to meet my personal deadlines. Somewhere along the way, I’d forgotten why I wanted to do it in the first place and allowed fear to cripple me.

Writing can be such a wonderful and yet frustrating thing. Frustrating, mostly, when you realize that this wonderful thing you had in your head, is not quite as great as you thought it was. Some days, you simply wonder if it’s even worth it? Only you can answer that. But if you don’t at least try and make that vision a reality … then how would you know that it’s not worth it?

And so I write on …

2 thoughts on “Don’t Get It Right, Get It Written

  1. Pingback: So Near And Yet So Far – Insecure Writer’s Support Group | Just Get It Written

  2. Pingback: Crush The Inner Critic, Camp NaNoWriMo Style | Just Get It Written

Leave a Reply

