Just Get It Written

Dream, Create, and Make It Happen …

Celebrating the 80’s

16 Comments

vik - small things 2

Time for another post in the Celebrate The Small Things Hop with our awesome host VikLit. Do visit her blog here to learn more about this Blog Hop and celebrate with us!

This week I’m celebrating:

4262 words in my WIP. Yes, I procrastinated–a lot! But I’m really getting down to the wire here. I just need to figure out how to tie up those loose ends…

And if you can’t figure things out or you’d rather put off doing things you should be doing, there’s always something on cable to catch your eye, which brings me to the 80’s, and a movie called 16 Candles.

I’ve never seen the movie before and although I found some parts to be a bit cheesy, I also thought it was cute and just the kind of teen movie that only the 80’s could pull off.

Big hair aside, the 80’s had some great music. New wave, anyone? And those classic John Hughes movies. Pretty in Pink has got to be my favorite and when they started playing If You Leave by OMD during the prom, best song intro ever! Okay, maybe not ever

What do you think of the 80’s? Do you have a favorite movie or song from this era? Do you find yourself nostalgic of the 80’s and these type of movies? What are you celebrating this week?


Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

16 thoughts on “Celebrating the 80’s

  1. Keep pushing along with that wip. Good Luck. And love all those movies!

  2. The 80’s were cool! Wishing you every success with your novel!

    MJ, A to Z Challenge Co-Host
    Writing Tips
    Effectively Human
    Lots of Crochet Stitches

  3. Congrats on the wip! πŸ™‚ Got to keep going!

  4. I watched Pretty in Pink for first time recently and liked it. I think it’s helpful to watch old teen movies if you write YA. They may seem dated but the emotions are the same today as then.

  5. Cathrina, MJ and Harliqueen: I’m very excited with the progress and hope I keep on track. Thanks for the encouragement and stopping by! πŸ™‚

  6. My favorite ’80s movie is probably Real Genius. True, I did watch it again recently and found that I was much more capable of appreciating it when I was 9 years old, but perhaps that was because my younger brain was better at grasping its subtlety and sophistication. πŸ™‚

  7. Congrats on your word count. That’s no small thing!
    I’ve not seen that move in ages…

  8. Gotta love the 80’s, especially the music.

  9. you made my day i watched sixteen candles its a random movie not much connected i guess

    • I think the disconnect comes from the fact that you’re dealing with a bunch of other storylines as well on top of the main character’s. It has its moments though. Thanks for stopping by. πŸ™‚

  10. My kids and their friends were in their preteens and teens in the 80’s. I can’t count the times I watched Sixteen Candles, or Pretty in Pink, or Dirty Dancing. Now my daughter has a child of her own and still, if she finds it on some rerun station while clicking through the tv guide, we have to watch it.
    Thank you for visiting my site. I am still poking around yours and am inspired to get busy on this writing thing and quit playing around with it. Thanks.

    • Nothing beats the classics or the stuff that we grew up with. πŸ˜‰ As for writing, I think at some point we just have to make the decision to stop skirting around it and get it done. Good luck and thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

