Just Get It Written

Dream, Create, and Make It Happen …

Camp NaNoWriMo

59 Comments

2014-Participant-Facebook-Cover

This April, I’m going to camp–Camp NaNoWriMo, that is. While I’ve participated in NaNoWriMo before, this is actually the first I’ve heard of Camp NaNoWriMo so I’m curious to try it out. The major difference from what I see is you can write whatever you want (like the Nano Rebels in November) and you get to decide on your word count goal, instead of the 50k that is usual for NaNoWriMo. And since it’s camp, you get assigned to a cabin with 11 other cabin mates.

I’m excited and a bit apprehensive for April to kick in. I’ve currently set my word count goal to the default 50k, but wondering if I should bring it down to something more manageable, like maybe 40k? I’ve won NaNoWriMo before so I know I can do it but I’m also aware of the fact that sometimes, things come up and you can’t hit your target. I expect to get a few days off for Easter, which luckily falls on April this year, so I’m hoping this would at least help me reach my goal.

As for the novel, I decided to go with Chick Lit this time. It’s my first time trying this genre so it’s going to be uncharted territory for me but I’m really excited about the story. Now if only that excitement will translate well into written words…

What are your writing goals for April? Have you tried Camp NaNoWriMo before? What did you think of it? Are you participating this year?

59 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo

  1. Sounds awesome!

    • Thank you. If you take the NaNoWriMo deadlines seriously, I think it’s a pretty effective tool in getting the first draft out, as it stops you from over-thinking to the point of not writing.

  2. I am doing Camp NaNo next month as well! I love the flexibility of it, and I plan on working on the second draft of my novel from NaNo 2013. My goal is 30k words, but I would be very happy if I hit 50k.
    Good luck! Will you be blogging about your progress over the course of the month?

  3. I’ve signed up for this as well this year. I did November and loved every minute of it. Looking forward to getting the next novel done! Best of Luck to you.

  4. Hi! I found your blog on the A-Z Challenge with <100 followers! Now you have 1 more. πŸ˜‰ Mine's more of a photo blog, so it'll be nice to mix it up reading yours!

    • I do follow some photo blogs. Added your artist website as well to the list. For some reason, the link to your photo blog is not working? You got some cool photos in the artist site though. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the follow.

  5. I’ve done camp NaNoWriMo before, but for some reason wasn’t as successful with it. I think it’s nice to be able to make your own goal.

    • I agree. You can always tweak it to what is manageable. Was checking the site yesterday and apparently it lets us set goals to as low as 10k. πŸ™‚ Good luck if you decide to try again!

  6. I’m looking forward to camp nanowrimo. I won my first nanowrimo this last November loved how it got me into the habit of writing every day.

    • That’s great that you’re still keeping the habits from NaNoWriMo. That is my biggest failure in the past. When NaNoWriMo is over, so is the habit and it is always hard to start back up again. Good luck with Camp and meeting your goals!

      • I wish I was that disciplined. I developed a great habit of writing every day during nano but since then I am still writing every day but I’m not getting nearly as much done.I’m hoping Camp Nano will help me get my butt in gear again.

      • As long as you’re still writing everyday I think it’s all good. You might think that your productivity went down but maybe you’re producing a better draft, as compared to the one written during Nano. My old Nano novels are quite a mess since Nano is about quantity. So IMO they’re a bit tougher to clean up during revisions. If you wanna buddy me up there my user name is maggie_hk.

      • I sent you a request. Just in case I stumbled upon the wrong profile, here is a link to mine http://nanowrimo.org/participants/hayleyknighten

  7. I’ve heard a lot about this, good luck with it! Sounds like great fun πŸ˜€

  8. Hi- I did Camp last year, and it was a good experience. Good luck. Thanks for stopping by on my blog yesterday. Keep writing! 😎

  9. I’ve never done nano before but i have churned out 100,000 words in 20 days, so I’m sure I could do it or the camp. Never had the inclining to do nano though. Good luck giving it a go

  10. I’ve never heard of this writing camp before, but it sounds like a lot of fun. You’ll be busy, I’m sure, trying to keep up with it all, but busy can be a very good thing, especially for writing goals.

    MJ, A to Z Challenge Co-Host
    Writing Tips
    Effectively Human
    Lots of Crochet Stitches

  11. You know I’m already there!

  12. I don’t NaNo in any shape or form. But I support those who do. πŸ™‚
    Case in point: http://melissamaygrove.blogspot.com/2013/11/speed-writing-eleventh-hour-help-for.html

    For me, April is going to be filled with a Maalox-gulping frenzy of pre-pub activities. My debut releases in may. >.<

  13. I know a few people who do Camp NaNo. I have never, although I used to do the traditional NaNo. I think it’s a great way to help writers get books out of their heads and onto paper (or a screen). Good luck!

  14. Caffe I love NaNoWriMo. It kicked me in the rear this past November when I really needed it. I wish I was planning to do the April challenge, but will only have time for one thing this April: The A to Z challenge.

    I think NaNo has something in the summer, so I may look into that.

    Good luck!!

  15. I didn’t manage to finish this November so I’m trying to complete the first draft for The Lady Winters. I’m also taking part in NaPoWiMo.

    • I haven’t heard of NaPoWriMo but then again, I can’t write a poem to save my life. πŸ˜€ Good luck finishing The Lady Winters, whether you decide to use Camp NaNo or not to finish it.

  16. Keep me updated on how it goes?
    I considered going this year but have too many things going on.
    So have fun for me πŸ™‚

  17. Best of luck in camp!

    I participated in Camp NaNo over the summer, but only got a measly 3,000 words written. Last November I won NaNo for the first time, which was an amazing and uplifting accomplishment.

    I would love to do April camp, but I’m not prepared to write another novel at this time. However, in a few months I think I may be ready to participate in the second Camp NaNo.

    Do you outline before starting NaNo, or are you more of a pantser? =]

    • I definitely felt the same way the first time I won NaNo. It’s a great feeling. πŸ™‚ I do outline before I start. I get lost as it is even with one. I can’t imagine what mess I’d be in without one lol.

  18. Good Luck and bravo for trying a new genre πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to hear how this works out.

  19. I’ve participated in NaNo and BuMo before – wrote two of my books that way. Have fun with it. That’s the main thing.

  20. Good luck! I surprised myself in November when reached the goal at the last minute. Just now, I’m much too busy to attempt it.

  21. Where did you find the html code to put your Camp Badge i the widget… Or how did you get it on there because all I can see to find is the URL and that won’t work in the text widget…

    • What I did was save the Camp Badge here, insert media (the badge) and then add the url to my stats site over in Camp Nano. Not sure if there’s a better/easier way of doing it but that’s how I did mine. Let me know if you still have problems and I’ll try and walk you through it. πŸ™‚

      Edited to add: I just checked your blog. Seems you have figured it out. πŸ˜‰

      • I searched and searched and then tried a different mode to see if I could insert an image widget instead of a text widget (which needs an html addy… like the word count widgets for NaNo.)… Took me an hour to figure it all out. But it was your badge that got me thinking about it in the first place. πŸ˜€ If you could add it to yours then there had to be a way I could.
        Thankfully, there were instructions on WP for the image widget and I linked the badge to my Camp NaNo profile. Thanks for getting back to me… πŸ˜€

      • You’re welcome. πŸ˜€ I’ve been using the image widget too but wanted it to open to a new window (which I can’t figure out how to do in image widget). This is possible in the text widget though. Thought you might like to know. πŸ™‚

  22. Thanks for liking my Camp NaNo post. πŸ™‚ You can find me as NixDesk. I don’t know who my other campers are yet, although I did request to room with my bestie who started this whole thing, or how much I’ll interact with them, but here’s hoping this year will be more productive!

  23. Thanks for liking my post on Camp Nanowrimo! Am glad to know of another blogger who’s joining camp this year. And it seems like you’ve got the same worry as me – that maybe 50k is too many words. Nevertheless we shall soldier on together! Onwards to 1667 words per day. You can add me on Nano – Caitlyn Sarkar.

  24. Thanks for stopping by, the comment and the follow. I’ve participated in Nanowrimo twice and I won last year. I believe this is my 2nd or either 3rd Camp. I’m going for at least 10,000 this time. I wish you luck and hope you reach your writing goals. Stop by at Camp and I’ll treat you to a coffee or s’mores by the camp fire. Carol Blake if you message. Carol-Blake if you type in address. Take care!

Leave a Reply

