Just Get It Written

Dream, Create, and Make It Happen …

Celebrate The Progress

35 Comments

vik - small things 2

Celebrate The Small Things is the brainchild of VikLit. Each Friday we post our celebrations, no matter how big or small.

It can be hard to appreciate things at times when we do not see the tangible results but we have to remember that it’s the small things, the little steps we take, that bring us to the finish line. And on that note, my celebration for the week is Progress:

  1. Sent off my manuscript to my mentor Janette Currie from the Womentoring Project. This is a HUGE thing for me as I’ve never showed my work to anyone. And so the wait begins…

  2. I got caught up with two of my online courses (yay only two more to catch up with!)

  3. Crossed off some more to do list for work (it’s a never ending list with new stuff constantly being added to it!)

  4. Revisited my April Camp NaNoWriMo project and got a bit of editing done. I have a long way to go on this one!

And with that, I’m ready to call it a week and enjoy my weekend, with some much needed sleep.

What are you celebrating this week? How do you keep things in perspective when progress is going slow?

Progress

 


Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

35 thoughts on “Celebrate The Progress

  1. Congrats on sending off your work, I bet it’s pretty exciting (and very nerve-wracking all at the same time! :D). Sounds like you’ve had a really productive week, hope you have a nice weekend πŸ™‚

  2. It seems you’re not standing still or going very slowly. Congrats on those accomplishments.

  3. Nice work!
    And what a great idea! I’ll have to do this at least monthly.. it’s good to celebrate and remember the accomplishments!

  4. Good for you! Cheering you on!!! πŸ˜€

  5. I’m hoping/ planning to do nanowrimo camp in July.
    What online courses are you taking? I love that there is so much available now!

    • Good luck with Camp! I probably won’t have time for it in July but hopefully I can participate in November. I’m up to 8 courses now: 2 on management, 2 on sciences, 1 on programming, 1 fiction writing and 2 others on literature. I know … what was I thinking right? πŸ˜›

  6. It’s cool that you have a writing mentor. Crossing off things on a list is great. Seriously one of my favorite things to do.

  7. Congrats on sending out your work, having a mentor is fantastic! Enjoy your weekend, =)

  8. Crossing things off your to-do-list is awesome. And good luck on your ms!!! Hope you hear good things!

  9. Congrats for sharing your work. It’s scary, but one of the best things you can do. And it does get easier in time. Have a brilliant weekend.

  10. You accomplished a lot this week! I’m envious. I like the idea of the Friday celebration. I’ll have to start doing that.

  11. I know sending off your work feels like a big step, but getting feedback from other writers is crucial. There are plenty of online writing groups. Do yourself a favor and pursue other opportunities to share your work and read others’ work to offer them feedback too. You can learn as much critiquing as you can by being critiqued. Good luck!

    • Yes I need to start looking for CP’s soon. There’s so much to learn about our writing through other people’s eyes and works. Thanks for the feedback and your support. Enjoy your weekend!

  12. Wow. You have an awful lot to celebrate this week! Congratulations on sending out your work! I know how hard it is to have others read it and wait for the critiques. When I took my fiction writing class, it was excruciating. Kudos on catching up with your online classes and getting some of your editing done on your April Camp NaNo project. You should be extremely proud. I’m proud for you. πŸ˜€ Have a glorious weekend and thank you for being a wonderful co-host, as always. Eva

    • Thank you! It’s great to see my Celebrations magnified in other people’s eyes. When I posted it, it seemed like they aren’t really such big things but thanks to all of you, I feel that indeed I have accomplished a lot this week. Thanks for your support and encouragement. Have a great weekend!

  13. Sending your work off is a big step. I’m still not used to it, knowing that someone is reading my work. Well done πŸ™‚

  14. Well done on sending your work off… got my fingers crossed:) You’ve got lots to celebrate this week:)

  15. Yes, it does seem as if I start to get melancholy when I have the sense that I’m “lacking momentum” in my projects — I shudder to think that there were many years in which I had no “projects” at all, and I just had the “day job” and the “playing hard” I told myself I was doing! If there is a perceived lack of momentum, in my experience, that is a signal to me that there is something I’m avoiding doing — some piece of music I have talked myself out of writing — and I need to get started on that immediately.

    • It’s good that you have identified the pattern and be able to do something about it before it get worse. Time wasted unfortunately is something we can never go back to nor dwell upon. Just gotta keep moving forward and do our best. Thanks for sharing!

  16. Sounds like you’re making good progress. I think posting each week about it helps you stay on track, too!

  17. way to cross off and get caught up – two of my favorite things to do!
    keep celebrating!

Leave a Reply

