Just Get It Written

Dream, Create, and Make It Happen …

Do It Without Fear – An IWSG Post

35 Comments

This month’s group posting for Insecure Writer’s Support Group is a bit tricky for me. First I was too busy to be insecure about anything in particular and then the more I thought of what I could post about, the more all sorts of insecurities started popping up that I scarcely know which one to talk about.

Since I can’t post about all of them unless I want my head (and yours) to explode, I’ve decided to leave my insecurities be for now and get back to work. I think one of the greatest actors of our time, Sir Anthony Hopkins, really summed it up very well with this quote:

AnthonyHopkinsQuote

Yeah, no mention of writing there. But it works just as well, wouldn’t you say? 😉

InsecureWritersSupportGroup2

Thanks to our host Alex J. Cavanaugh and his June co-hosts C. Lee McKenzie, Tracy Jo, Melanie Schulz, and LG Keltner!


Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

35 thoughts on “Do It Without Fear – An IWSG Post

  1. Very true. 🙂
    (We just won’t think about all those nasty reviewers on Amazon. LOL)

    IWSG #215 until Alex culls the list again.

  2. Man, I can relate to every single thing you said- including the need to get back to work. Great quote you selected, and a nice way to think about it- what’s the worst that could happen? Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. So TRUE…but easier said than done.

    Thanks for the reminder.

    Leanne Ross ( readfaced.wordpress.com & LeanneRossRF )

  4. The last part should read: “Because no one can arrest you or put you in jail if you WRITE badly, so there’s nothing to lose!” lol

    Very inspirational and so true! 😀

    • So true on that last part! I wish I’d thought of editing the quote before putting it out. Too late for that now. We’ll just use our imagination and substitute the word in our heads. 😀

  5. Well, when you put it that way, it’s true! (Unless you’re painting graffiti.)

  6. I wonder if Sir Anthony ever had a bad review. Probably, eh? I think he’s fabulous, so for today I’m in totally agreement. Until the next crisis happens. LOL.

  7. Great post! This is something I always have to remind myself. 🙂

  8. That’s a good way of looking at it. The only thing that can get hurt is your ego.

  9. I love that quote. It definitely works for writing. Thank goodness. I wouldn’t want to go to jail for all the terrible first drafts I’ve written 😉

  10. Thank goodness you can’t be arrested for producing bad art of any kind. And what is bad art anyway?

  11. Good Quote, Sir Anthony, and thanks for sharing, never heard this one before.

  12. That’s a great quote! I know what you mean about trying to think of something to write about and it all crashes…only this week for me it was my computer repeatedly crashing, along with blogger, which left me with just a skeleton of a “I was going to post about but I give up because blogger sucks” instead…sigh.
    Tina @ Life is Good
    On the Open Road! @ Join us for the 4th Annual Post-Challenge Road Trip!

    • Urgh sorry to hear about your troubles. Hope you get it sorted soon. It’s very frustrating when things like that happen, esp computer crashing. All the things you suddenly “need” to do and you just can’t do it.

  13. This is great. Insecure writers, unite! 🙂

  14. What a great quote!
    …and Sir Anthony has mastered that ‘fearless look’… I don’t think anybody would dare arrest him… 🙂
    Writer In Transit

  15. Reblogged this on My Inner Geek and commented:
    I just wanted to share this inspiring quotee. I lack a lot of confidence in my abilities and so therefore I find it difficult to sell myself, even though we’re on a continuous journey full of ups and downs as we improve. It’s normal to have failures along the way, but I’d rather spend my time in the struggle of creativity than to do nothing at all.

    • I think it’s normal that we doubt ourselves, no matter where we are in our journey. It also makes it more worthwhile once you accomplish what you set out to do. As you said, nothing can be worse than not doing anything about it all. Thanks for the reblog!

      • Thanks for sharing the quote. I find it gives me a bit of a boost to hear things like that – especially from other people who have also been on a creative journey. I think many of us want to have instant gratification these days for what we do, but it can actually take a long time to get to where we want to be. My biggest problem holding me back is self doubt. I think you’re right though, it’ll be worthwhile once we get there. 😀

      • Agree on the instant gratification. Self-doubt can be debilitating and it’s a constant struggle. We all need to be reminded sometimes and support from others go a long way. Good luck and keep pushing on!

      • Thank you, and you too 😀

  16. Pingback: June Roundup – Celebrating The Small Things | Just Get It Written

Leave a Reply

