Just Get It Written

Dream, Create, and Make It Happen …

My Writing Process Blog Tour

16 Comments

Thanks to the awesome Hayley Knighten for tagging me for this Blog Hop! Check out her blog Books are Delicious! for more amazing content.

 

What Am I Working On?

I am working on a paranormal fiction called Haunted. It’s about a vampire (is that a collective groan I hear? LOL) who has become disillusioned with what he is and the things he’s done because of it.

How Does My Work Differ From Others of Its Genre?

While there’s a strong romantic element that drives the story, that is not the main focus. It’s a bit darker, a vampire having a sort of existential crisis, if you will.

Why Do I Write What I Write?

This is hard to answer because I have all sorts of stories across different genres.Β  I suppose the simple answer is that I really just like making up stories. They play such a huge part in our lives and we read different kinds of books based on the different moods we may be in at the time. I like to have that diversity and it reflects in my writing–stories that make you laugh, cry, fall in love, or just simply forget about the world around you for a moment.

How Does Your Writing Process Work?

I try to jot down ideas as I have them. The ones that I feel strongly about tend to start developing in my head and I build on that. I get on my computer to write the synopsis, or whatever scenes that have formed, work on a general outline. Depending how long it’s been in my head and how developed the story has become, the outline could be more detailed by then. Once I start writing, I tend to go linear although I’d write a few scenes in advance sometimes.

 

And now for my tags!

Elsie Elmore – Author of The Undead: Playing for Keeps (due fall 2014)

Cathrina Constantine – Author of Wickedly They Come and Tallas

Elizabeth Hein – Author of Overlook and How To Climb The Eiffel TowerΒ (due fall 2014)

Nana Prah – Author of Love Through Time and Midwife to Destiny

 

16 thoughts on “My Writing Process Blog Tour

  1. Congrats on being tagged Caffe! I like your answer to the third question…I wouldn’t know what to write there!

    p.s. Vampires will always be awesome *thumbs up* πŸ˜€

    • Thanks! I had to grapple with why I simply can’t just pick a genre and stick with it. It would make things so much easier. I think in the end, it’s just not me. I like diversity in books and so it is with my writing. You can call me Maggie btw. πŸ™‚

      • Diversity is good! Sticking to one thing all the time can be boring.

        Are you participating in Camp NaNo next month?

      • Definitely agree on diversity! I don’t think I have time in July. I’ll be visiting with family for a few days and on top of everything else, I just don’t see how I can fit Camp in. Are you participating? I’m hoping I can do the one in Nov.

      • I think I’ll have enough time to give a whirl. But anyway, have fun on your trip!

  2. Great answers to the hop! πŸ™‚ Your answer to number 2 was great, I think it really is about just creating stories!

  3. Honestly, your story sounds really good. I can’t wait to read it!

  4. love your iwsg – do it without fear post! yay for writers, too!
    and your style is similar to mine, love the idea of a vampire going thru an existential crisis! dark and brooding (i see brad pitt, the later vampire years…)

  5. I still like vampires romances, especially when there’s a good twist like yours has!

  6. Pingback: Short Story for Fiction Writing Class | Just Get It Written

  7. Pingback: Blog Hops and Awards | Elizabeth Hein - Scribbling In The Storage Room

  8. Pingback: June Roundup – Celebrating The Small Things | Just Get It Written

Leave a Reply

