Just Get It Written

Dream, Create, and Make It Happen …

Full Moon Friday the 13th Celebrations

18 Comments

vik - small things 2

My day started when a large butterfly flew past me on my way to work. So what, you might say? Well, let me continue by saying that it was all black and nearly as big as a bird! Now most of you know that a black butterfly is supposed to be a bad omen, and that coupled with Friday the 13th? Well, I’m sure you can imagine where I’m going with this…

An idea for a story! It’s not all there yet but it’s a start, at least.

I’m also celebrating freeze-dried strawberries in white chocolate (yum!) and friends who remember to get them when they go on holiday.

Some of you might recall I’m taking some online courses. It’s been crazy trying to keep up with the readings and assignments on top of everything else in my life but I’m really enjoying the classes and learning a lot from them. I’m currently on track for four out of my eight MOOC’s so yes I’m behind but I’m still celebrating my progress!

How has your week been so far? Would you say you are superstitious? Check out this story about Friday the 13th coinciding with a full moon, which won’t happen again until 2049!

Join us each Friday as we Celebrate The Small Things, with our host VikLit and my fellow co-hosts Diana Wilder, LG Keltner @ Writing Off the Edge, and Katie @ TheCyborg Mom. Go say hi to them!


Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

18 thoughts on “Full Moon Friday the 13th Celebrations

  1. For whatever reason, Friday the 13th has always been a lucky day for me. Thanks for stopping by my blog and commenting. You sound like things are moving along in a positive direction!

    • Good for you. 🙂 I remember growing up we tend to make a big deal out of Friday the 13th. Every stumble, every bad thing is all because of it LOL. Thanks for visiting and have a great weekend!

  2. I’m not superstitious, though, it’s fun to hear about everyone who is. Have a nice weekend.

  3. The full moon is simply a scientific phenomenon, but boy! it’s beautiful! Superstitions are, by and large, self-fulfilling (she says, with her fingers crossed). Have a good weekend.

    • Definitely agree on the beauty of the full moon. I still pause for a moment to gaze at it whenever I see it. Judging from the looks I get from people, I guess that makes me weird LOL. Have a great weekend!

  4. Love freeze-dried strawberries, and anything strawberry for that matter. They are overflowing here in central Illinois, so I buy them by the cheap cart-load, cut them up, and freeze them. Interesting about the full moon and the 13th; I’m off to read your article link next. Have a great weekend!

    • I’m jealous–freeze dried strawberries in unlimited supply! Sounds wonderful. Strawberries here are imported so can be a bit costly depending on the supply and where they’re from. Thanks for visiting and have a great weekend!

  5. I’m not superstitious in the least. Of course, I never walk under ladders, but that’s common sense. I don’t let black cats cross my path, but that’s impossible because they’re always on my keyboard. They don’t walk anywhere. I don’t invite a 13th person to dinner. I always make it nice round 14 or 12. I do keep lots of salt on hand just in case I need to toss it over my should. Otherwise, I’m superstitious-free.

  6. Sounds like you’re onto a great story idea! Two of my neighbors have black cats and they quite often cross the road in front of me when I’m driving my kids to school, so if I were superstitious I’d be a basket case by now. Best of luck with your classes!

  7. I’ve never heard of black butterflies being unlucky. I was also born on the 13th, so every few years my birthday coincides with a Friday. I quite like them 🙂

  8. Wow, you’ve signed up to a lot of Moocs. I wanted to do more, but I’m just not sure if I could find the time to do it all. I love learning about new things though and I can see myself doing many more over the years. Also, that does sound like some pretty interesting imagery to use as inspiration.

  9. Oooh, a black butterfly and Friday the 13th…sounds like a thrilling story! 🙂 I had no idea about that superstition with the butterfly, but add that to Friday the 13th AND a full moon and you’ve got yourself one crazy day!

    I think the one thing I’m most superstitious about is knocking on wood. I know it sounds crazy, but I really do try to knock on wood if I say something that I really don’t want to have happen. Like “No, I’ve never been in a car accident.” Quick! Knock on wood! 🙂

  10. I’m late. I’m also not superstititious. I hope your week was awesome and full of wonderful surprises. Thanks for stopping today at Lee’s.

  11. Pingback: June Roundup – Celebrating The Small Things | Just Get It Written

Leave a Reply

