Just Get It Written

Dream, Create, and Make It Happen …

Calling All Authors – An IWSG Post

61 Comments

InsecureWritersSupportGroup2When I started this blog, it was as much to inspire me as well as others.Β  I had the idea for Behind The Scenes a while back, as a way to feature writers and give other people a glimpse into their journeys. But I lost sight of things and never went ahead with the series. I suppose I was also afraid people would think my questions were silly and that I’m not very good at interviewing people, which brings me to the topic of my IWSG post for this month.

I’m looking for more authors to interview, for what I hope will be a long-running series, Behind The Scenes. Anyone interested?

C. Lee McKenzie has been wonderful enough to kick this series off, giving me the chance and the renewed confidence to attempt this. You can find her interview here to see what you’re getting yourself into (or just to learn more about Lee and her writing journey!)

As writers, we are always riddled with insecurities, some moments of elation, followed by more doubts, and then those hurrah moments–a crazy rollercoaster ride on its own. Still, they say it’s the journey that matters and not the destination. And so I’m curious to hear about your journey and I think others will be, too.

If you’re interested, please contact me using the contact form or leave me with your contact information in the comments section. I hope to hear from you!

You can also find me on Twitter:

Β 

Insecure Writer’s Support Group is the brainchild of Ninja Captain Alex J. Cavanaugh, and his co-hosts for August are Sarah Foster, Joylene Nowell Butler, Lily Eva, and Rhonda Albom! Thank you all for your hard work!
______________

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

61 thoughts on “Calling All Authors – An IWSG Post

  1. I think it’s a great idea! Look forward to reading them πŸ™‚

  2. I think that’s a great idea! I’m sure you’ll do wonders with it. πŸ™‚

    IWSG #184 until Alex culls the list again.

  3. I’m all for the Behind the Scenes for during my blog tour! I’d love for you to sign up.

    https://docs.google.com/forms/d/1jeadjIRneLub7C_TiNG05T7ETAuB-jjhsqO9EMWcENY/viewform

  4. I’ll have to wait until I finish my first book before I can sign up. Good idea, though.

    • Haha! I’m holding you to that. They say a career in writing is a marathon, not a sprint. Same thing for this series, I hope! So I would eventually get to interview all of you who are willing! πŸ˜€

  5. Sounds like a great idea. I’ve signed up. Looking forward to hearing from you.

  6. That will be a great series…to read. I wish I was prepared to be interviewed.

  7. Sure! That’s a great way to give back to the community.

  8. Sounds great indeed and many can learn a tip or two along the way too

  9. I’d love to participate. It sounds like fun. cluculzwriter at yahoo dot ca.

  10. Ooh Behind the Scenes! Sounds awesome. πŸ˜€

    When my schedule clears up, I’ll reach out to participate. If you’re not too swamped by then lol

  11. Reading about others’ problems and hard publishing journeys makes me feel better. Does that make me a bad person? Keep those posts and interviews coming!

    • LOL. That’s one of the things I love about IWSG. You know you’re not alone. People going through the same things and how they’ve overcome (or not) help us all keep things in perspective.

  12. It’s so funny that you posted this today while I was writing a blog about just this thing! Great minds think alike. πŸ™‚

    • Love your post! It’s something I grapple with most of the time as well, plus procrastination is in all our vocabularies, I think. πŸ™‚ You should join IWSG. I thought your post was spot-on.

  13. I’ll definitely be interested in reading everyone’s woe’s and triumphs!!

  14. This sounds like a great idea. If there’s anything I can do to help, please ask.

  15. I think it’s a wonderful idea. When I get my book out, I’d love to participate.

  16. That’s a great idea. I’m happy to help out if you’re still looking for authors.

  17. I think this is a brilliant idea. And if it’s what you want to do, then you should do it! No worries about what others think! πŸ˜€

  18. Sounds great! I’d be willing to participate if you’re still looking. πŸ™‚

  19. Wonderful idea, add me to the long list of interested authors!

  20. Sounds like a great idea! Looking forward to reading them πŸ™‚

  21. I just wanted to let you know that I nominated you for the Wonderful Team Member Readership Award! The details are at http://lorilmaclaughlin.com/2014/08/10/wonderful-team-member-readership-award. Thanks for all you do for us writers in the blogging world!

  22. I second guess myself all the time, so I understand why you postponed this posting these behind the scenes pieces; however, I love the idea and others do too. So glad I could help by kicking this off. Thanks for asking me.

  23. What a fantastic idea! We all need inspiration and I try so hard to find it when I’m down. Let me know if you need any help. I’m looking forward to reading them as well. πŸ™‚

  24. I was wandering down the list of IWSG blogs and came across your post today. I’ll bite! I’ll fill out your form this evening.

  25. This is a great idea, and I look forward to reading more! πŸ™‚

  26. Sounds like a great series! Look forward to reading more about the authors interviewed!

  27. Pingback: Thank You for The Support! | Just Get It Written

  28. I know what you mean about how it could feel awkward. I’ve wanted to do things before that required contacting other people, and then I worry that it might seem like I’m bothering them or being silly. This is a really good idea though and from what I’ve noticed many writers seem to enjoy being a part of a community and sharing what they do. I doubt they’ll think your questions are silly, but you never know unless you try and it’s better than giving up through assuming the worst.

    ‘We are always riddled with insecurities, some moments of elation, followed by more doubts, and then those hurrah moments–a crazy rollercoaster ride on its own ‘

    This sounds like what many creative people go through on a regular basis. It’s good to show that the journey to creating something is not as straightforward as simply having an idea and making it. There are so many emotions that come along with it.

  29. Pingback: Author Interview: Behind The Scenes with Joylene Butler | Just Get It Written

  30. Pingback: Author Interview: Behind The Scenes with Nana Prah | Just Get It Written

  31. Pingback: Author Interview: Behind The Scenes with Tara Tyler | Just Get It Written

  32. Pingback: Author Interview: Behind The Scenes with Terri Rochenski | Just Get It Written

  33. Pingback: Author Interview: Behind The Scenes with Elizabeth Hein | Just Get It Written

  34. Pingback: Author Interview: Behind The Scenes with Alex J. Cavanaugh | Just Get It Written

  35. Pingback: Author Interview: Behind The Scenes with Freddie Remza | Just Get It Written

  36. Pingback: Author Interview: Behind The Scenes with Mishka Jenkins | Just Get It Written

Leave a Reply

