Just Get It Written

Dream, Create, and Make It Happen …

IWSG Celebrates Three Years!

17 Comments

InsecureWritersSupportGroup2 It’s the first Wednesday of the month, which means it’s time for Insecure Writer’s Support Group. And what a session this is, as it marks the three-year anniversary of IWSG! Thanks to the Ninja Captain Alex J. Cavanaugh, who started this and has kept it going, along with his various co-hosts for the month. This month, his co-hosts are Kristin Smith, Elsie, Suzanne Furness, and Fundy Blue.

To celebrate the anniversary, the IWSG team is putting together an ebook that will benefit writer, The IWSG Guide to Publishing and Beyond. Very exciting indeed!

My insecurity for this session is that unlike most of my fellow IWSG’ers, I really do not have much of anything to contribute to the book. I suppose it’s an insecurity that pretty much every writer goes through: Do I really have anything worthwhile to say? Does anybody care?

The writing journey never ends. We are constantly learning and growing, and I think the difference is where we are at that point in our individual journeys. In my case, I think I’m pretty much still on the starting line, which can be quite frustrating and depressing if I think about it, so I try not to. And if you don’t focus on how far you still have to go and just keep on doing what you love doing, then it’s not so bad. And at the end of the day, I’m happy to be surrounded by people who are more than willing to share their guides and expertise.

So pop on over to some of the IWSG members’ blogs and see what tips and advice they have to share!

 

 


Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

17 thoughts on “IWSG Celebrates Three Years!

  1. Congrats.

  2. Oh… that question. Do any of us have anything worth saying…. It is a totally understandable question — and I think an insecurity that MANY of us struggle with!

  3. I felt the same way about the book. I thought I could possibly come up with some “writer-ly” advice. You know: read a lot, write the same time everyday, write what you know, yadda yadda yadda. Not very profound and would likely be redundant.

    Then when Alex came back the other day to say that they had plenty of posts on writing and were looking for publishing and marketing ideas I was stymied.

    I will be looking forward to READING all the advice though.

    Leanne Ross

    • Yeah, I’m looking forward to reading the book as well. I began to really think about good advice or writing process that works, but just gave up lol. My process is really a lot of different processes, probably mostly situational in what works and don’t at any given time. Or maybe I’m just weird lol.

  4. I have those insecurities, too. I’m not submitting anything to the book, but I can’t wait to read it. Happy Anniversary, IWSG!

  5. Everyone has something to offer. Remember, there is always someone more clueless than you think you are. (And I mean that in a nice way, as I usually feel pretty clueless.)
    We still on for the interview next month?

  6. I didn’t submit anything either, simply for the same reasons. I wonder how long this starting line lasts :)T

Leave a Reply

