Just Get It Written

Dream, Create, and Make It Happen …

Writers Write – An IWSG Post

18 Comments

InsecureWritersSupportGroup2

It’s been a rough couple of months and writing-wise, I have not been very productive. I didn’t even get to do NaNoWriMo, as I’d intended. I’d hoped it would help me get back on the saddle, so to speak. But in the end, time simply didn’t permit me to even attempt it.

We all have other things to deal with in our journey–life, work, relationships, etc. It is up to each of us to find the time to dedicate to writing, if it is something that we truly want. So does that mean that I do not want it enough? I don’t necessarily think so … although I wonder whether this is me simply trying to justify things?

Writers write, and the simple fact is, I haven’t been getting much writing done. So that’s my insecurity. I feel that I should have been able to do more. The first half of the year went so well goal-wise, and the latter half was just a downhill spiral. In the back of my mind, I know I should be writing, there’s that voice telling me I should fire up my computer and get writing. But at the end of the day, I find that I don’t have much energy left, and just crash.

With a few weeks before I go on a much-needed Christmas break, I’m thinking it’s time to forgive myself and not beat myself up over what I haven’t been able to do. Instead. I’ll take my break, hope I come back new and refreshed, and pick up where I left off.

Does that sound like a good plan? I don’t know. I certainly hope so!

Any tips on how you guys do it? Do you take planned breaks or do you just keep going? Beat yourself up over those lost time when you should’ve been writing?

 

Insecure Writer’s Support Group is the brainchild of Ninja Captain Alex J. Cavanaugh, and his co-hosts for Decemberย are Heather Gardner, T. Drecker from Kidbits, Eva E. Solar at Lilicasplace, and Patsy Collins! Thank you all for your hard work!


Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

18 thoughts on “Writers Write – An IWSG Post

  1. You have to give yourself a break. We beat ourselves up too much. The important thing is what you are doing today. It sounds like you missed your goal mark – but goals can be adjusted, they are living agreements with ourself. I feel like I edit more than write, so I get discouraged too. To boost moral I remind myself oh what I did accomplish – a pat on the back sort of thing. Give yourself one ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • I definitely agree about editing. It can feel so discouraging to work on the same text over and over again and feel like you are still not getting somewhere. But you’re right that I should focus more on what we have achieved rather than how far we still have to go. Thanks for the encouragement! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. I think that sounds like an excellent plan. You should definitely forgive yourself and not beat yourself up over it. Life happens and sometimes gets in the way of writing and there’s nothing anyone can do about it but adapt and move on. I know if I try to force myself to write when I’m overtired or if my muse isn’t there, I’ll just end up rewriting it because nothing good ever comes out of those sessions. Relax and recharge over your break, and you’ll come back with a fresh perspective and much more positive energy. Hope things smooth out for you soon!

    • Thanks! Forcing myself to write when overtired has never really worked out well, as you pointed out. Instead, it just stresses me out more, which ends up compounding the problem. I’ll definitely use my break to relax and recharge, thanks!

  3. Sometimes the words flow, and sometimes they don’t. I went for over a year without writing a MS before that writing bug kicked back in. Take a break. Don’t worry about the writing because life is where the ideas and inspirations are born.

  4. I think taking a break is a great idea. I’m letting up on myself this month, too. There’s just no sense in berating myself about something over which I have little control.

    Enjoy your holiday. ๐Ÿ™‚
    IWSG #151 until Alex culls the list again.

  5. Don’t beat yourself up too much! Breaks are good ways to refill the creative juices you might’ve drained from your cup. I just roll with life, because life usually decides where to go. May you find peace this holiday season. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Thanks Loni. It’s so wonderful to hear such positive and encouraging thoughts. And I’m glad to know that taking breaks is not something I should feel guilty about, that it happens to the best of you, too. Hope you have a good holiday season!

  6. I think it’s important to take breaks, otherwise you don’t get inspired. At least, I tend to get inspired when I’m not writing. Recently, I had a deadline and I was stressed about it, but I was stuck and so took a week off. I read a lot about my setting, but didn’t write. I was surprised by how much I wanted to write after that week was up and how much better my writing was.
    Enjoy your break. I hope it is refreshing!

    • I definitely agree that it’s near impossible to get anything accomplished when you’re stressing about stuff. Everything just feels forced and I just end up hating my writing more. Thanks for sharing! I certainly hope this time off can get me back on track. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Take your break and enjoy it, no guilt allowed. I feel like this year my life has been all over the place and I’ve been unable to reach my writing goals, but there’s not much I can do about it now. I will write. You will write. But first, the holidays . . . and if we can squeeze some words in between, then we do. You’ll come back strong, enjoy!

    • Don’t take this the wrong way … but I’m glad we’re in the same boat. You seem to be taking it very well and I should definitely learn to be more like you, so thank you! Hope you have a good holiday season and here’s to more writing when we come back! ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. Take that break and restore your writing energy!

  9. A break sounds like a great idea. Sometimes you can push yourself too much, and the ideas and prose suffers. Whenever I take a break, I come back to it with renewed enthusiasm. Enjoy the next few weeks ๐Ÿ™‚

    • That definitely seems to be the case when you force it. Thanks for sharing! Definitely makes me feel better that it’s not as bad as I think it is. Hope you have a great holiday season as well!

Leave a Reply

