Just Get It Written

Dream, Create, and Make It Happen …

Celebrate The Small Things

25 Comments

vik - small things 2

Celebrate The Small Things is a weekly blog hop, wherein we post our celebrations each Friday, no matter how big or small. You can sign up here. Thanks to our host Lexa Cain and her co-hosts L.G. Keltner @ Writing Off The Edge and Katie @ TheCyborgMom for continuing what VikLit started!

This week, I’m celebrating trying new things, particularly food. I usually don’t like to experiment, preferring the tried and tested, but it’s been fun trying out new flavors, and seeing what I like and don’t.

I also finally gave traditional Chinese medicine a whirl. I’ve been tired a lot lately and it’s kind of sad when you’re told by an elderly neighbor, who looks very healthy and energetic, that you look pale as death after only a short hike, and that you probably need to see a doctor about your lack of qi. Qi translated would be something like the force or energy that helps our body function as it should be doing. Anyway, I just started taking the mixture of herbs that is typical of Chinese medicine, so we’ll see how it works out. The thing is, unlike Western medicine, traditional Chinese ones hardly have immediate effects. So I think I need to learn to be patient as well, instead of immediately dismissing it as not working. After all, what’s the point of being in Hong Kong if you are not going to try authentic Chinese medicine?

I’ve been revising again and actually finished a chapter. It’s not much, but I’m happy with it. Now if I can just keep at my goal for the rest of the month…

What are you celebrating this week? Ever tried any herbal medicines, acupuncture, fire cupping, etc.? What did you think of them? And if you haven’t tried them, would you? Do you think they’re based on actual science and can really cure people, or just a bunch of old beliefs that does not live up to modern medicine?

 

 

25 thoughts on “Celebrate The Small Things

  1. My daughter’s tried going to a Naturopath, as well as accupuncture and all sorts of weird things. Some work and some don’t. If I had a vexing problem from which I couldn’t find relief with traditional medicine, sure, I’d try the alternatives. I’m also a big believer in clean living–getting rest, exercise, and eating copious amounts of fresh, raw vegetables.

    Happy weekend.

    • I tried acupuncture once. Have to say it’s less weird than I thought it would be, but I’d definitely not try it with someone who is not recommended by someone I know. I think clean living is a big factor and the most ideal, but one that becomes increasingly hard to do in our world today, what with instant food and juggling a lot of things at once. Thanks for sharing and hope you have a great weekend!

  2. I love trying new foods. Oh that neighbor! Hope she was at least nice about it. Have a great weekend.

  3. Congrats on finishing revising the chapter! I have a friend who swears by holistic medicine, herbs, and Asian massages to relieve tension. You never know until you try, and I hope it works out for you! I’m pretty bad with trying new things, so yay to you for being brave.

    (Thanks for stopping by my blog! I’m drowning in a huge “to do” list these days, especially trying to find time to write a novel WIP to be pubbed next Sept/Oct. If I get that novel finished and pubbed in the next 5 months, I’ll be happy to do an interview on your blog. Thanks for asking. Have a great weekend!)

    • No worries, Lexa. You’re a busy bee! And I just know you’ll hit all those targets. I’ve tried Asian massages and they really seem to help, so we’ll see how this new adventure works out. Have a great week!

  4. In Europe, herbal medicine is used quite often. I think it depends on which treatment it exactly is as to whether it really has an effect. Some things are known to really help, where others are more of a long shot. One should never underestimate herbal medicine, although it’s not a miracle worker either, but rather a light support. Anyway, have fun with your exploring. What’s for dinner tomorrow?

    • Oh, I didn’t know it’s used there often. That’s interesting! I think we’re so used to immediate results that it’s easy to discount things that don’t work as fast we want to. I do think that it’s more of a support than anything else though, esp for things that western medicine can’t really “fix.”

  5. I count nothing out. I do believe in exercise, eating nutritious food and minimizing stress as ways to help us stay in balance. That’s hard to do in this modern world. So much is out of out control. Old people can be treacherous, so beware of them. 🙂

    • LOL. Thanks, Lee! I think ideally that is indeed the best way to live and stay healthy… Unfortunately bad habits, among other things, make it easier said than done. Doesn’t mean we should stop trying though… 😀

  6. I have found that many traditional medicines focus a lot more on wellness and healing, rather than merely symptom management. I hope you continue to find those things on your journey!

    • Thanks Bethany! That seems to be true as there’s a long list of stuff I’m not allowed to eat while I’m continuing treatment. Good habits definitely go a long way in staying healthy.

  7. Keep writing! It feels good when a chapter shapes up. Food can be medicine and yes you must be patient – I use a mixture of cinnamon and honey in warm water to reduce I inflamation. This time of year with the trees blooming, I also eat plenty of ginger root and add to my food – clears up the sinuses. There are so many foods and herbs that help 😀

    • Yeah I definitely need to know about herbs and stuff. I’ve been trying ginger tea at times as someone recommended, but I think I space them too apart to actually notice any change lol. Thanks for the encouragement. Your blog has been a wonderful source for tips, so thank you!

  8. Good for you for trying Chinese medicine! Most westerners aren’t as open minded as they should be about it. I’ve been going for acupuncture treatments for about 5 years now…I love it! I have my own cupping set at home that my husband does for me (he was instructed by my acupuncturist)..it’s not the traditional fire kind–it’s works with suction. I’ve also taken different herbal concoctions over the years to help with a variety of things…from inflammation to bronchitis. The little seed that I took for my lungs was amazing…better than any antibiotic! Good luck in your continuing adventures in Chinese Medicine!
    Katie @TheCyborgMom

    • Thanks Katie! I agree that a lot of Westerners are not very open to the idea. I didn’t know you can do your own cupping at home. I don’t think I’ve tried it. My mom has, but her Western doc told her to get off it for whatever reason. I have tried acupuncture and it really helped, although I’m not a huge fan of it lol.

  9. I am definitely open to alternatives, especially when it comes to pain management and stress relief. I meditate at home on my own, but need to find guidance from someone who really knows their stuff. I learn what I can from apps & e-books, but they only go so far.

    Let me know after some time what works and what doesn’t. I’m on a never-ending mission of self-education and healing. Hugs. Eva

    • A friend of mine swears by yoga, although I’ve never tried it. I usually go and have massages with Chinese “docs.” I don’t know exactly what they call them, but unlike regular massages, these Chinese docs know the pressure points that help with circulation and all that. I usually sleep better after a session, but it’s not a one-time fix all. I try and go about once a month if I can, although my doc says I should aim for more.

      • I’ll look into it and see if there are any in my area. If there are, hopefully they’re not too pricey. I’d be happy going once a month. It’s better than not going at all.

        I have to be careful with yoga because of the old fractures from my car accident. I’ve done yoga in the past, and am willing to try something simple. Love the massage tip, though. Hugs.

      • Hope you find a good, affordable one in your area, Eva! It might be a good idea to tell them of your history during your first visit, though, although in my case, what happens is that normally they would ask you what’s bothering you and go from there. Mine is a slash chiropractor, who helps me snap things into place, too, so just watch out for those. Let me know if you have any more questions. =)

  10. I love acupuncture, but you have to find a practitioner you really connect with. I used to go to one that got me through two stressful pregnancies, and it was marvelous.

    I am always so happy when I meet my writing goals. Congrats on the chapter- use that as momentum to keep moving!

    • Thanks! I only tried acupuncture once, but that was more because my doc took me by surprise more than anything else lol. Still, I agree that you should only try it with someone you trust and feel comfortable with.

  11. I’m all for natural methods as much as possible. I don’t get sick much. If I have a back ache, I prefer a massage over medication, for example.

    Precious Monsters

    Paranormal Romance Blog Hop

Leave a Reply

