Just Get It Written

Dream, Create, and Make It Happen …

Liebster Award

22 Comments

liebster-blog-awards-2

First of all, huge thanks to TCC Edwards for nominating me for this award. I generally don’t like the concept of “chain mail,” which according to the official Liebster Award site, is pretty much the kind of award this is but I’m gonna be a Yes! girl and play along.

I’m also opting to go with the rules my nominator used, with the exception of going with the less than 1000 followers from the official rules instead, so I could include some of my nominees that just missed the 200 mark. However, in the spirit of the nature of the award, I have picked fairly new blogs and/or those with not much followers, which leaves me with these rules:

  1. Each nominee should link back to the person who nominated them.

  2. Answer the 10 questions which are given to you by the nominator.

  3. Nominate 5-11 other bloggers for this award who have less than 200 1000 400 followers.

  4. Create 10 questions for your nominees to answer.

  5. Let the nominees know that they have been nominated by going to their blog and notifying them.

The questions I got from TCC:

1. If you could rewrite the end of any movie, what movie would you choose?
A: SPOILER ALERT if you haven’t seen Frozen

Off the top of my head I’d have to say Frozen. I thought the ending was a bit rushed and the whole Anna/Kristoff thing doesn’t work for me. Their connection seemed lacking and it being a Disney film I felt that’s one thing that should’ve made sense at least.

2. What theme do you wish more fiction tackled?
A:
Hope/Hopelessness

3. Have you ever witnessed or been in a natural disaster?
A:
I don’t know if it counts but when I was a kid, a volcano erupted about 150km from where I lived. I remember everything being covered in volcanic ash for days.

4. If you could go to a bar (or coffee shop) with any fictional character, who’d you choose for your drinking buddy?
A:
Gandalf. I’m sure he’s still got some great stories left to tell!

5. What’s a common trope in fiction that really bugs you when you recognize it?
A:
I’m actually OK with tropes, as long as they’re handled well. I think it really depends on the kind of book I’m reading and my expectations based on the genre.

6. Have you ever tried writing something completely out of your comfort zone? (For example, if you never wanted to be a poet, but tried writing poetry anyway.)
A:
I had to write a poem for one of my classes. Needless to say, I sucked. Never tried it since.

7. Was there ever a book you just couldn’t finish? Why not?
A:
There’s quite a few of them actually but no titles come to mind at the moment. If the first few chapters just drag on with not much happening I find myself losing interest and just abandoning the book. So yeah, a book has to get me in those first few chapters or I’m gone.

8. Which author (living or dead) would you most like to meet in person?
A:
Ernest Hemingway

9. What was your least favorite book assigned to you in school or university?
A:
I can’t think of any

10. It’s Halloween and money is no object! What character would you dress up as?
A:
Aerith from Final Fantasy 7

I’m passing on the award to the following people:

  1. A Writer’s Life For Me.

  2. Tara Tyler Talks

  3. fanny barnes thornton

  4. Scribblings

  5. Melissa Maygrove

  6. Writing Off The Edge

  7. Madness of a Modern Day Writer

  8. Carrot Ranch Communications

  9. mckellegeorge

  10. bemuzin

  11. ~~On the Wrong Page~~

My questions for them:

  1. Which fictional character do you most identify with and why?

  2. In another life, what would you be doing, if not writing?

  3. Would you rather have a slow painful death by terminal disease or a quick death by accident?

  4. Your books are a big hit. Would you rather see it as a: (pick one only) movie, TV series, computer game, or a Broadway show? Why?

  5. Admit it, you already have a dream cast in mind. Who are they?

  6. Any part(s) in your manuscript(s) you’ve been embarrassed to let your family/friends read?

  7. Was there ever a book you just couldn’t finish? Why not? (Yup, stole #7 from my nominator. Shame on me.)

  8. What is the one thing you would never, ever let your characters do?

  9. What do you think is the most underrated book/movie?

  10. Do you prefer happy endings or tragic ones? Why?

22 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. Thanks for the nomination!
    I’m not sure when I’ll fit the post in, but I’ll try. 🙂

  2. Congrats!

  3. Thanks so much for the nomination! Will keep me smiling all day now 😀

    Great answer for number 4. I think Gandalf would be an awesome character to talk to.

  4. Thank you so much for the nomination. I would like to participate, but need to know if there is a specific timeframe for accomplishing this? Days? A few weeks?? I hope the latter!!

  5. Also, I meant to congratulate your other nominees and I look forward to visiting each blogsite. We have such a pool of talent and interests. Thank you again!!

    • I agree that there’s really a great bunch of blogs out there that’s left to be discovered. Hope you enjoy visiting them; I certainly did.

      As for the timeframe, the site never mentioned anything so I’m guessing a bit of delay is not a problem? It took me over a week to get around to posting mine.

  6. Thanks for the nomination. I’m hoping there isn’t a time frame because I’m struggling to keep up at the moment. Hubby (bless!) is being very demanding having recently retired, and I have other obligations.

  7. What a way to cap a Monday! Thank you for the nomination; it means that more than crickets are actually visiting my posts. For a relatively new blogger trying to get some visibility, the nomination is greatly appreciated. I actually like answering questions. Congratulations on your own nomination, and to the bloggers in this round. Thank you!

  8. Thanks again for the nomination:-) reading over the rules I realize I don’t follow many blogs (like mine) with under 400 followers which makes me feel kinda bad! I need to spend more time online finding great but growing blogs! I promise I will get to answering your questions soon though 🙂

  9. sweetness! thank you so much!!
    Gandalf is my favorite answer and love these questions! i will get to this soon =)

  10. Pingback: Liebster Award: Just Get it Written « Carrot Ranch Communications

  11. Pingback: Liebster Award Paying It Forward « Carrot Ranch Communications

  12. Thank you so much for the honor and for giving me the chance to play! I’ve posted a response at Carrot Ranch (http://carrotranch.com/2014/03/25/take-time-to-play/) and you’ll find my answers posted in the link, Just Get It Written Response.

Leave a Reply

