Just Get It Written

Dream, Create, and Make It Happen …

Celebrate The Small Things

12 Comments

vik - small things 2

Celebrate The Small Things, is a weekly blog hop, wherein we post our celebrations, big and small, every Friday. Thanks to our host VikLit and my fellow co-hosts Diana Wilder, LG Keltner@Writing Off the Edge, and Katie@TheCyborg Mom for all their hard work!

This week, I’m celebrating finally getting a bit of a breather from work and life in general, as we had a two-day holiday, which made for a really less-stressful work-week.

Having said that, it’s not easy to ignore what’s going on in Hong Kong. The week-long protests for the most part have been peaceful, albeit inconvenient for getting around, as well as business in general, but today it has taken for the worse as there were violent clashes between the protestors and people who oppose their occupations of the major roads.

In all this, what I can celebrate is that the people I know are safe.

I do not know how this stand-off between the government and the protesters can possibly be resolved. And with the latest development, one can only hope it comes to a peaceful resolution soon.

If you’ve heard of what’s been happening in Hong Kong in the last week with the protests, feel free to share your thoughts!

What are you celebrating this week?

 


Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

12 thoughts on “Celebrate The Small Things

  1. I’m glad the people you know are safe. I can only see the situation going from bad to worse. The possibility of a peaceful settlement seems very, very small. It’s so sad that such conflicts always lead to violence. Why can’t people find the better way?

  2. It was only a matter of time before the people of Hong Kong were going to get angry. They’ve been used to freedom of choice for a long time. Sorry it’s turned ugly.

    • I suppose it’s all relative, since they never really had full democracy in picking their leader to begin with, so it’s not like China is taking away something they had. Either way, it’s a mess, which is always the case anyway in the fight for democracy.

  3. I am celebrating the life…

  4. It’s hard to find something to celebrate with things like that going on, but I’m glad you could 🙂

  5. I wouldn’t travel abroad these days if someone paid me. I’m glad your loved ones are safe.

  6. Scary indeed! This week I’m celebrating the near end to the book I am illustrating. Yay!

    ♥.•*¨Elizabeth¨*•.♥

Leave a Reply

